New York City activist

September 28, 2007

Richard W. Behan’s “War on Terror” article, Mikkelina’s blog, and income tax

Thanks to Mikkeluna’s thoughts for calling attention to The Mega-Lie Called the “War on Terror”: A Masterpiece of Propaganda by Richard W. Behan, AlterNet, September 27, 2007. This article contains a concise history of Bush’s and Cheney’s pre-9/11 plans to invade both Afghanistan and Iraq, for which 9/11 then provided a convenient excuse.

“Mikkelina’s thoughts” is a blog here on WordPress which contains posts in support of the 9/11 Truth movement. I was glad to see that it also contains posts that appear to be somewhat left-leaning, including When will the American people yell: ENOUGH!, in which Mikkelina endorses Michael Moore’s call for universal healthcare, and Governor Schwarzenegger: Sie sollten sich schämen!

But then, I found an earlier post in which even Mikkelina got sucked up into the anti-tax mania: Aaron Russo, Ron Paul, the problems of the Federal Reserve. As if it were possible to have even a big-city fire department, let alone universal healthcare, without taxes! Mikkelina repeats the claims, all too common among people in the 9/11 Truth movement these days, about how the income tax is supposedly illegal. Mikkelina, please see the following Wikipedia articles, for starters:

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Diane,
    Maybe I was not really clear in my writing. I am not against taxes. I grew up in Germany where taxes are very high. I would be willing to pay more taxes if it meant health care for every person in this country. I would pay more if I knew that that money is spent wisely.
    I found Aaron Russo’s ideas fascinating. I find the fact that there IS no law that says you MUST pay income tax interesting. Why is there no law? I would never think of not paying taxes.
    Anyway, thanks anyway for reading my posts and quoting me. Yours are very very detailed and well researched…I don’t have that much patience, so I will keep checking yours for inspiration!

    Comment by mikkelina — September 29, 2007 @ 5:06 pm | Reply

  2. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and post a comment.

    That business about there being allegedly no law that says you must pay taxes is a matter of technicalities. See the Wikipedia articles I referred you to.

    Anyhow, I’m glad to hear that you don’t support the anti-tax mania after all. Evidently I misunderstood you.

    I would be interested to hear what you think of my post titled The 9/11 Truth movement needs a more visible, better organized left wing!.

    Comment by Diane — September 30, 2007 @ 2:19 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

